5mn with… Pierre Frey

Profession: President of Pierre FREY US 


Tell us a bit about Pierre FREY, the company.

My grand father, Pierre Frey, founded the company in 1935. We create and manufacture fabrics and wallpapers in the purest French tradition. The company includes not only Pierre FREY designs but also collections from three other prestigious brands: Braquenie, Boussac and Fadini-Borghi.

We are very attuned to the modern world, which has led to the creation of stunning home accessories and furniture (sofas, carpets, lamps, cushions, perfumed candles…) to complement our fabrics.

This year, we are very proud to celebrate the 75th anniversary of our company that is still 100% family owned.

What about you Pierre?

I’m French, 33 years old and I am in charge of Pierre FREY America. Although my early years were spent living and studying in Paris, we traveled extensively with my family -frequently to the US… Summer camp in Maine & New Hampshire, was a ritual… I was raising the flag, playing lacrosse and sleeping in tents…

My work is dedicated to our family company, Pierre FREY, and I travel a lot around the country to find new clients/agents, change our distribution in some territory or try to explain our “savoir faire” to the industry. I feel so lucky to work in such an aesthetic industry and be always surrounded by beautiful products… 

How did you get into Interior Design?

I was born in it! From the first day of my life my father took me to every event; I was even part of the advertising campaign for the Pierre FREY kids’ collection. It made sense to me to continue my career in this industry, as it became my passion very early.

I started my early years at Pierre FREY, learning the process of weaving and printing in factories- they are real artisans… Then I spent a lot of time working with our clients, spending a few month working in a workshop where furniture and curtains are manufactured and finally I worked with interior designers for a better understanding of the general process and that was fascinating…

Who’s your favorite interior designers?

My taste is very eclectic; my home is a mix of 50’s furniture, traditional fabrics, ethnic objects and modern pictures. My favorite interior designers are Alberto Pinto in Paris for his Moroccan and French origins that create an amazing mix, Thierry Despont in New York for his American influences mixed with French origins and David Hicks for his colors and patterns inspired by England in the 60’s and 70’s.

If you had one tip to give to people for a cozy interior what would it be?

For modern environments, add a touch of textile to add warmth, like red velvet cushions for example.   Many sources of lighting really give an amazing atmosphere to a room as well compared to lights from the ceiling.

Are there any fall trends?

With this downturn of the economy, people entertain more at home and are definitely trying to keep their living space more welcoming. Minimalism is giving way to colors, textiles, comfortable furniture and multiple sources of lighting.

What does a city like NY bring to you?

I find inspiration in the creativity, people, and mixed origins of New York. 

What is your favorite place or thing to do in the city?

Hanging around Nolita, my neighborhood, discovering new restaurants, galleries, stores, bumping into random people…


What is your favorite interior design shop in NY?

I have many but if I had to go over my favorite stores in one day, I would go to De Vera, John Derian, Todd Merill and Paul Rubenstein- all in Nolita and Soho.

What’s your favorite Hotel?

Crosby Street Hotel that just opened and is owned by the Firmsdale group, another family owned company. One of the owners, Kit Kemp, is the interior designer and is terribly talented. She mixes colors and objects like nobody else and used Pierre Frey in much of the hotel. It is very cozy and you really feel at home the second you enter. The service is outstanding, the bar is not as loud as they all are in New York and they serve original drinks.

And Restaurant?

I just discovered Hotel Griffou, which recently opened. The decor draws on the space’s 19th-century golden days; with a dash of French salon style thrown in and the service and food are fabulous. I am also a regular at Omen and at the Standard Grill.

What’s next? Any projects?

Our dream would be to open our own Pierre FREY boutique hotel, but that might be a little early. You’d be able to purchase everything, from the restaurant’s plates to the curtains, the furniture etc… For now, we’re busy celebrating our 75th anniversary and we also launched a new tool, an online store where lots of our products (candles, lamps, throws, cushions…) can be purchased from around the world.

Pierre FREY is located 979 Third Avenue  bet 58th and 59th street. Tel: 1 212 421 0534
Click here to visit their website

2 thoughts on “5mn with… Pierre Frey”

Leave a Reply

