5 min with… Laetitia Stanfield

Profession: Jewelry Designer

Who are you Laetitia? 

 I’m a half French, half American 27 years old that was raised between NYC, Washington DC, and Paris. Now my parents live in a horse farm in Middleburg VA (my sanctuary).  I studied finance in college but always had a passion for the fashion industry.  Straight from university I joined the buying team at Bergdorf Goodman where I worked for 4 years for the contemporary floor. I learned a ton about the industry and the important facets that are necessary to a budding player in that industry.  I’m trying my best to use them and I’m hoping its working😉    

How did you decide to design beaded chiffon jewelry?  

I give all that credit to my business partner Mignonne Gavigan, she is the brains behind the designing, I am the business side.

When was ROARKE born?

ROARKE was born late last summer.  I was ready to move on from the corporate setting and start my own company, I just wasn’t exactly sure what that was…..  Mignonne had designed the first necklace and was looking for someone who knew the industry.  We had a very serendipitous experience, a case of the ‘right place at the right time’.  Mutual friends introduced us, we met for coffee and 2 weeks later we started a company.  We are very lucky, we compliment each others strengths and weaknesses very well.

If you had to create  a line for a famous designer or famous brand, who would it be?

Mignonne and I are both very influenced by Parisian designers, that being said, I would have to say Lanvin and on a more casual note Isabel Marant.  

Which celebrity would you be flattered to see wear your designs?

That is tough, it ranges from Kate Moss to Michelle Obama, Rihanna to Carine Roitfeld… sorry, that’s more than one!

 

What does a city like NY brings to you?

An undercurrent of energy that in me sparks a certain joie de vivre.  Along with that comes of course inspiration, opportunity, and the people- I love New Yorkers- the attitudes are amazing!!

 What is your favorite place in the city?

Favorite place this time of year is the fireplace at the bowery hotel, a block from my house, so a nice little escape.  In the warmer weather Mignonne and I like to scour flea markets for inspirational patterns and materials.  But work aside, my favorite moments come from exploring new parts of the city with friends and sitting down to long mimosa filled brunches on the weekends… 

What’s next? Any project?

For ROARKE, we are getting into handbags, which is really exciting.  I am also figuring out a way to help small designers start up their fashion dreams.  Placing them with the proper contacts, knowing the necessary steps to take and the proper time and customer to launch too.  I’m getting there but it may be a little while!!

ROARKE NYC. Check out their amazing collection online and order ASAP!
You can also contact them at 1 202 494 5789
 

Leave a Reply

