5 mn with… Nina Freudenberger

Profession: Interior Designer


Who are you? 

I was born in Munich, Germany, and moved to the US with my parents when I was quite young.  I went to RISD (Rhode Island School of Design) for architecture, and after college, I was offered a great position at an interior design company in NYC. Three years ago I opened Haus Interior, an interior design company. In late June of this year, I opened my first retail boutique, featuring interior décor products in Nolita.

How did you fall into Interior Design?

While I had a wonderful time studying architecture, the position I was offered was in the interior-decorating field. I love everything about it, specifically the fast pace and working so closely with my sophisticated clients.

When did you decide to create your own company?

The “business” side to any design field always fascinated me and I wanted to really dive into that side of the interior-decorating world. I also found that I was interested in not only working on high-end design projects but also mixing hi/lo design, and with this concept I opened Haus Interior on my own.

You opened Haus Interior last June, what is the concept?

I think that interior design/décor has become much more accessible now then in the past. My clients are sophisticated and know a lot about design, mostly through the introduction of so many design blogs and publications. I think although there are some affordable home décor store, there is still a gap in the market, and as a firm believer that beautiful design does not need to be expensive, I opened Haus Interior to prove just that.

Who’s your favorite designer or interior designer?

I love David Hicks – his incredible ability to layer patterned materials is so fascinating to me.

If you had one for a cozy interior what would it be?

I think that layering patterns and prints is one really simple way to make things feel much more comfortable. Don’t be afraid to experiment, every home should represent yourself and your style and doesn’t need to look like it’s on the cover of Architectural Digest.

Are there any fall trends?

 I think that people are really looking towards pieces that have a timeless quality but with a level of quality. Whether it’d be the 100% woven cotton throw or eco-linen towels, I think that people are interested buying something they will keep in their home for a while.

What does a city like NY brings to you?

 The city brings an incredible energy of constant forward motion, progress and innovation. Even something as simple/common as taking note of the fashion style on the streets can be inspiring.

 

What is your favorite interior design store in NY?

 I love John Derian, Abingdon 12 and Flair in Soho.

What is your favorite place in the city?

My store, of course! But I love so many places, its hard to name them all  – eating lunch at the Modern or walking around Tribeca, going to the farmers market in the West Village or shopping at the flea market in Chelsea – these are just a few!

What’s next?

Hopefully opening another store, whether it be in the states or abroad!

Haus Interior is located 250 Elizabeth Street in NY. Tel: 1 212 741 0455
Visit their website for more information.

 

1 thought on “5 mn with… Nina Freudenberger”

Leave a Reply

