5 mn with… Sébastien Micke

Profession: Photographer

Who are you?

I’m a French photographer on staff for Paris Match Magazine. I’m 32 years old and I come from a town in the South of France called Sète. I’m based in the US and I am currently living in LA.

Why did you choose to become a photographer?

I was 17 and at a party with some friends where someone gave me a camera- it was early, very early in the morning or very late, and I became obsessed with this “throw away” camera. I tried to make artistic photos and I fell in love with the camera: looking back on those photos, they really suck!

What was your best shoot?

Mariah Carey! We changed our set from NYC to LA at the last minute. The set in NYC was a very expensive production and at midnight she cancelled on me. We talked and rescheduled for LA. The new shoot was simple because we wanted to show off her recent weight loss. This was my best memory because Mariah involuntarily made me go to LA and by chance on that trip I met my future wife who I am marrying on June 19th.

Any crazy happenings on set?

On the same photo shoot I was electrocuted and almost died! Mariah didn’t even notice.

Any fun memory?

A round trip on a private jet from Paris to Greece to photograph the Patras Bridge. It was a huge expense for something so simple, we left Paris at 8am and I was back on the Champs Elysees drinking a coffee by 6pm.

If you could pick anyone, who would you shoot?

Barack Obama. I worked with him on the campaign but I would love to have a private session with him now and see how his time in the White House has affected him.

What does a city like NY bring to you?

Every time I turn a corner in the city, I discover something new. It inspires me. NYC is like In-n-Out Burger, I can’t get enough!

What is you favorite place or thing to do in the city?

I love to go out. There are always new places to hang out. My new favorite is SL nightclub in the Meatpacking. The space is beautiful and the creator Mark Birnbaum is very talented and a great guy.

What’s next?

Shooting with Julie Ordon in NYC soon!

Click here to see Sébastien’s portfolio or visit his website.
http://www.sebastienmicke.com

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 mn with..., Photography

Leave a Reply

