5mn with… Vera Balyura

Profession: Jewelry designer

Who are you Vera?

I was born in Kiev, Ukraine. My heart has been beating for about 25 years. I run a jewelry company that began as a way to unwind my brain from stories told to me in dreams, starring bee-keeper centaurs, creatures that never die and deep sea animals…

How or why did you decide to design jewelry?

When I was little my grandpa would show me miniatures he made and do puppet shows for me. I believed the little people and creatures could come alive on their own, but had pride in keeping very still whenever I was looking. When I’d go to sleep they would take me to their magical land. Now I repay them for the adventures by bringing them and their friends back into my world. It’s all about giving back.

When was VearMeat born and why did you pick this name?

VeraMeat was born about 3 years ago. This name was picked because it was the only name which made me laugh and yet felt powerful.

If you had to create  a line for a famous designer or famous brand, who would it be?

Hmm…Chanel would be incredible, Jil Sander would inspire, Marc Jacobs of course… And I’m thinking of doing an exclusive cuff line for Opening Ceremony, something sincere for Atelier…

Which celebrity would you be flattered to see wear your designs?

Hmm… I’ve been super lucky to have a few wish list clients like Miranda July and Tilda Swinton. Would love to add Isabelle Huppert, Zoe Deschanel, Charlotte Rampling & Gainsbourg, Adrien Brody and Patti Smith who is my neighbor. We met through a mutual friend and when I mentioned needing feedback on a writing project she invited me in. So I’m working on a “thank you” VeraMeat for her right now.

What does a city like NY brings to you?

It brings the opportunity to connect with artists you admire and to be inspired every second which can get exhausting in a sexy way. You become a part of the big piece of art that is NY which invite friends into your life who through a conversation make you feel like you’ve evolved into a future ancestor.

What is your idea of a perfect day in NY?

Hah well, I’m an Austrian art fan so a day at Neue Gallery with lunch in their cafe would be perfect… or have breakfast in bed with a French book then design some amazing jewelry … or taking photos of the west village daily life. Again walking around Manhattan to see what the city brings is often better then anything I can foresee.

What is your favorite belonging?

My guitar, love to pick her up, and unrehearsed play whatever comes to mind
and record it. It’s like improved acting at UCB which I also love, magic happens when you let yourself free. Going to be starting a VeraMeat TV in the City series on YouTube!

What is your favorite place in the city?

As far as things to do when in West Village, Happy Owl is great for lunch. In Williamsburg, Monkey Town has great shows and films in their back room-though they may be closing.

What’s next? Any project?

Yes VeraMeat TV satire comedy episodes, viking taking over the sky collection for VeraMeat while building on some old themes. I am recording a punk folk music album under a new band name: Party Of Virgins. I’m also decorating a new studio in the East Village. Please come to the open house on April 24th!

VeraMeat has a studio on 303 East 5th street. apt # 1A. bet 1st & 2nd av.
Check Vera’s Website to see the full collection and order online.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 mn with..., Fashion, jewelry, Shopping

Leave a Reply

