5 mn with..., Fashion, interview

5 mn with… Michaela Dosamantes

Profession: Stylist


Who are you Michaela?

I was born in Mexico and raised in NY. I’m 26, I’ve been living in New York since I finished university 5 years ago. While studying Art History I lived in Florence and London, where I gained an appreciation for art, culture, design, music and I saw these facets of culture intertwine and affect each other. Fashion was always something I loved but I never thought I could work at it  until I lived in Europe. I started to see it as means of self expression and a way of combining different elements of culture, background and taste. 

After moving to NY I started working for the NY bureau of French Vogue where I worked on many photo shoots– after that the inspiration was endless! 

How did you decide to become a stylist?

Working at the magazine, it was easy to by influenced by the people I worked with, I love meeting new people and getting to know them. Working on shoots you are always meeting new creative people with different points of view and collaborating with them to create something. thats amazing. 

 

Shoot with Robin Wright Penn

Lot’s of fashion stylists dream to work for French Vogue, what would be your dream job now?

My favorite part of the job is working on a shoot and creating something as a team with the photographer, model, makeup artist and hair stylist. I have my dream job! I get to collaborate with such talented people every day. I just hope I get to do it for a long time. I would also like to own a store one day…and go on shopping trips around the world to find fun treasures!

What is your best memory on shoot?

Every shoot is memorable, but one of my favorite shoots was for French Vogue in Montauk for the November 2007 issue. The photographer was Bruce Webber, and we ended up shooting at a petting zoo! We had 6 models, ducks, chickens, pigs (and piglets too!), horses and lamas roaming around, it was so much fun and really hilarious! 

The toughest or worst experience?

A not so funny thing that recently happened to me was having the sprinkler system go off in the middle of the shoot and the firemen had to come to the studio to turn it off! thankfully, none of the models and clothes did get wet. but the camera got soaked!

You must have been on shoot with lots of celebrities, any funny stories?

Lets just say it involved a TOP model, a garbage boat, and a looooong night! You won’t get more details than that. 

Give us a fashion tip or a must have for this winter.

My must have for winter is my Marc Jacobs cashmere beanie from the Mens store on Bleeker street, and of course my vintage mink coat (from my secret spot on the upper west). A must in NY winter!

What does a city like NY bring to you?

The kinetic energy that this city offers you is so special, you can start from scratch every day and have new opportunities at your doorstep. I love that you can walk down one block and hear 6 different languages, and be immersed in several different cultures in one day… In NY you meet people from all over the world, what they all have in common is that they’ve come here to make it. And we all know, if you can make it here you can make it anywhere.  

What is your favorite vintage shop in the city?

I don’t have a single favorite vintage shop, but East Eleventh street has a couple of gems!

What is the best affordable one?

Maybe somewhere like Buffalo exchange, you never know what you are going to find!

And an expensive one?

Rare Vintage and Resurrection they have amazing collectable pieces. And, if you are lucky you may get to see the rental only basement at Resurrection, they have Thierry Mugler, Versace and Alaia from the 80’s and 90’s that is to die for! Also, Jewel Diva at the Manhattan antiques pavilion on west 25th street has some pretty amazing costume jewelry from the last 20 years. Ask for Connie. 

What’s next? Any project? 

NY Fashion week just ended, I went to see my friend Joseph Altuzarra’s collection, which was absolutely beautiful. Check it out on Style.com!! And, fingers crossed many shoots and Paris fashion week in a couple of weeks…

Click here to check Michaela’s latest work.
Standard

Leave a Reply

